Posted in Service Learning

True Colors

One of my focus in the course objective is to create academically successful learning groups. Since these will be incoming freshmen, college students, most of them will not know each other. However, what all of the students in this course do have in common is that they are all active participants of the same program. Thus, I would like for the students to get to know each other to build relationships and hopefully study groups in their classes during their time at this college.

These students will be introduced to True Colors as a means for them to better understand themselves and others. I will also have another Working Style personality assessment activity as well. In any case, True Color is an inventory used to appreciate strengths in our primary and secondary colors and appreciate differences with others who don’t identify with the same color as ourselves. It is important to better understand our preferred styles when working with others, and helpful in improving effectiveness in working with others with our least preferred (relatable) style.

Below is a two part assignment that I have created for students to learn more about their working personality styles. I am attaching the True Color Google Doc link for viewing here since the image below doesn’t allow you to access it. The second image is another means for students to become familiar with using Canvas, and also another activity for students to get to know each other since we will be working and collaborating with each other for the quarter.

True Colors
Assignments created on Canvas for students to understand their True Color personalities.

 

Discussion 1
Discussion 1: Get to know your classmates
3 thoughts on “True Colors

  1. I love that you’re using the True Colors activity! I just did this at a union retreat last weekend! It was so interesting because I had never done an activity like this before. However, we took the survey and we ended up labeling our name tags with colored dots. We put the four colors in order of how bright they were for us, and included our points on the stickers. That way, over the course of the weekend every time you met someone you could see their colors on their name tag. It was really interesting to feel like you can understand someone at such a foundational level when first meeting them. It really helped me understand the perspective of those around me.

    Real life story from that weekend:

    I was working with a group and there was a fly buzzing around the room. I watched it buzz along and it was crawling on the window. I found myself watching it and being fascinated by it. Then one of my group members reached up and squashed it. I loudly gasped, because I had been a little wrapped up in the fly’s world. My group member said “Oh no! Are you blue??” I said yes and she immediately apologized. It was actually an important moment because knowing I was “blue” meant she knew that I was empathetic and compassionate. I had felt differently about killing a bug than she did and she was immediately able to understand my emotions. I also saw that she was “gold” (logical and traditional) and I was able to understand her perspective too.

    Kind of a silly story, but I really love the True Colors activity. I think you can do a lot with this if you start with it because you can reference the colors for the rest of the length of the class.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for commenting and sharing your “True” silly story! I LOVE LOVE LOVE True Colors as well and have been using for several years now. I’ve had so many similar stories with my color, and I use my boss and myself for many examples (we’re complete opposites). Now, I can use yours a great example as well!

      There’s so much engaging activities you can do with it, and the students love it too. True Color is easy to assess and understand when time is limited as well; it’s also interesting to see what happens when you have the same colors sit together to complete an activity.

      Like

  2. I love how there is so much humanity and opportunity to be “known” in these activities that you’re setting up ,even as they’re online and even as they may not have the same face-to-face contacts that they may have in a traditional course. That’s a reflection on you and on all that you’re considering as esssential for student success. This course is going to be a gift to these students.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

