Posted in Service Learning

Prioritize and Set Goals

Since one of the topics that I would be addressing in this ten weeks course is prioritize and set goals, I figured it would be fun and engaging to use Padlet as a sounding board. One of the many challenges that I find is students not knowing how to create realistic goals. Thus, without providing the lesson plan first, it would  be interesting to collect responses using Padlet first.

This will also be the first time where I would introduce students on this digital platform (I am assuming most have not seen Padlet before), where I will also teach them how to create their own Padlet near the end of the class period. Perhaps, I can have them all create a Padlet as an assignment. All they would need to do is come up with a title and description for their question/prompt to elicit from their classmates; the only restriction is that it must revolve creating a successfully and satisfying experience in college or around any of the eight applicable methods as listed on the course syllabus. As each student comes up to share out, they would provide a brief (1 minute or less) explanation why they chose their question or prompt to the class before collecting response. The student presenting will also read out responses and guide/lead 3 minute discussions based on responses. I would definitely assist with this.

To ensure that there are no duplicate concepts, students will need to verify their question/prompt with me before leaving class or next class period (I will provide time at the end for brainstorm). I will also mention that approved question/prompts will be a first come first serve basis. The ideal is to have approve all students before leaving class. So, all they would need to do is take 3 minutes or less to create their Padlet.

What I see in this two day lesson is that I will address prioritizing and setting goals, such as using the SMART goals. I would also provide examples of good and bad ones, then have them practice writing a few. They would partner up or work in small group and help each other fine-tune it if needed (e.g. too generalized or missing measurable component).

Ahhh! I just came up with an idea. In thinking about Padlet and how this digital platform can allow connection beyond having to be in the classroom together, I can post students Padlet links once approved by me onto Canvas. I would set a short deadline for this (especially since I will provide time in class for them to think of their question/prompt), so that their classmates have ample time to respond). This way, we would be ready to roll out and present the next time we meet.

The grading for me is really the completion of the assignment and participation in responses. However, I found that changing it up in the classroom will be nice for the student, having the students present (teach/lead discussion); my hopes is to provide them with practice opportunities and a safe environment to gain confidence in speaking in front of an audience.

Below is a snipping of the Padlet I created for the first time. It took no time at all, especially since you can sign up via Google or Facebook, which I imagine most students will have one or another. If not, then perhaps it’s a good time to get these college students onto Google…? After all, I will be using and showing Google Docs, Google Slides, and Google Forms at the very least.

Padlet Blog

Leave a Reply

