Posted in Uncategorized

High Quality Failing

Ahhh!!! I am so stressed and at moments on the verge of crying. (I just sat here for five minutes erasing then retyping that last line. This goes back to how much do I want to share publicly.)  I was hoping that I wouldn’t have to type another “failing” blog post again; just as I thought I was gaining some momentum in class, I am on the downhill of a roller coaster ride.

First, so stressed about mid-term portfolio that I nearly forgot it was blog post day. Speaking about blog posts, mine are all over the place with no real sense of direction. I know our portfolio is a work in progress, but mine’s a hot mess, where I am not even sure I know what I am doing or if I met all the criteria. Totally failing on this one. I’m probably not actually crying because we’ve been encouraged to fail; so that we can learn from it.

Second, I am finding it very difficult to stay on top of this digital world and be mindfully engaged. I know I am very robotic in terms of the way I am playing. It’s not authentic as I would like. This is not only sad but also very frustrating. I am very thankful for those playing well with me and making it easier for me, like “Sam” in A New Culture of Learning.

Lastly, my question! What question!? It’s halfway through the quarter and…?

Truthfully, I am starting to doubt myself in surviving this digital world. Hrmm…maybe that’s the question I should explore. Perhaps, I simply don’t have the digital skills needed to be confidant with digital literacy. Help! (Something hard for me ask for as well.)

2 thoughts on “High Quality Failing

  1. Hi Lina,
    Isn’t it funny ironic that I think your blogs are amazing! I have learned so much from them and I have enjoyed following you on twitter as well. In class we don’t get a chance to chat that much and I have really enjoyed getting to know you through your social networking adventure! You are awesome and I am proud to be on this journey with you. I think the pressure of doing a good job in a public forum is way more intense than papers or work that only your teacher or classmates sees. Keep up the good work and we are all on this ride together! I look forward to some fun stuff tonight in class.
    Your friend,
    Laura

    Liked by 1 person

  2. First of all, I just want to say that I totally relate to your stress. Second of all, I want to say, don’t worry. Which is hilarious for me to say since I can easily tell others, but haven’t been able to do it myself.
    I think the fact that you are aware of the areas you need to grow in is great. Often times the biggest obstacle is becoming aware of how you are doing. I am constantly working on my students’ meta cognition. Not that this makes your stress lessen, but it is something to be proud of. Hang in there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

