Posted in Uncategorized

Literature Art

Although literature in general is a type of art, a form of human expression, I found Inanimate Alice to be a new form of artwork that I will call literature art. I am not even sure if there is such a term. I want to bring up a colleague’s blog in relating to a similar type of art work known as tech art installations, which is also a new form of art for me.

This literature art is a digital, interactive fictional story about a young girl starring at the age of eight in the first episode of what seems to be an ongoing series. I am not sure where it is at in its completion. Readers of Inanimate Alice will experience the storytelling as if watching a mini-movie all while reading text. The digital visuals and background and sounds are creatively composed.

My overall thoughts about this literature art was negative at first, particularly not my style of reading and definitely not conducive to my learning styles. I am multimodal in my learning styles, but there was just too much going on for me Inanimate Alice. Additionally, I don’t tend to multi-task or utilize different learning styles at the same time. For example, I had to turn the TV off to write this blog; otherwise, I would be listening to it and won’t be able to focus on my train of thought to write. So, I will admit that I did turn down the volume to the story when watching it the first time. I will also admit that I have watched the first four episodes three times now over different days. The first time, I just wanted to get through the story. I wanted to click to the “next” page. I was slightly frustrated at some of the interactive portions, especially parts where it wasn’t so intuitive at first.

After class discussions yesterday night and giving it more thought, I do see positive aspects in this new digital literature medium. First off, I do see it as a very creative art form that takes mad skills to produce, especially a quality one. Second, although it may not be for me, incorporating the different learning styles and evoking different senses perhaps will help young readers to be more engage in the reading material/story, especially if they don’t necessarily understand the text or know all the vocabularies. The flashing/shaking of sentences and movement of imagery are like clues to help a young readers to critically think about what is going on, or creatively and cleverly make something up…as if they knew what they “read.” Lastly, I think is type of literature could be helpful in “reading” comprehension for students who don’t care for the more conventional reading books. I will definitely have to explore more on this type of art.

5 thoughts on “Literature Art

  1. Thanks for linking my blog! I’m glad that the art installations gave you some ideas for your blog too. I have the same issues with Inanimate Alice, I would find it extremely difficult to learn from a medium like that, my brain just doesn’t work like that, but maybe young people growing up with things like this can more easily comprehend the story. I wish I could say I had a revelation after class and now like it, though I do appreciate Inanimate Alice, I still can’t bring myself to “like” it. I really like your insight on the topic though, great blog post!

    Like

    1. Perhaps I should have asked first, but with all of your help, I figured that you wouldn’t mind with some traffic heading your way. 🙂 Plus, I thought it was a good and interesting blog as well. I also appreciate your honestly with wishing you had a more positive outlook with Inanimate Alice after class discussions; but I don’t blame you. I am pretty realistic and positive in general, and I know a bit of me want to see all sides. This probably leans towards my positive lens with this anime. Otherwise, I a like you where I don’t care for it, but if I had to use it…I can see the beneficial aspects of it. Also, as I read others posts on this and Jan’s comments, I find her points really interesting, counteracting many negative views about it as well, or challenging those views. -Lina

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The thing I really like about multimedia storytelling is that it helps struggling students, as you mentioned at the end. More of the state exams, like the SBA, are starting to focus on general “comprehension” skills, in addition to reading comprehension. Students generally have to watch short videos, or look at pictures/graphs, and answer questions about them. By using multimedia storytelling, we can help students with these general comprehension skills, as well as giving struggling readers a way to better understand the written portion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

